Reporting Glanders (<em>Burkholderia mallei</em>) - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Reporting Glanders
(Burkholderia mallei)

On this page:
What to report
How to report
Submitting clinical materials
Who is required to report

What to report

As of July 13, 2018, glanders (Burkholderia mallei) must be reported to MDH immediately 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Case definition

  • There is no national case definition set for glanders. Any suspected or confirmed case of glanders, including isolation of Burkholderia mallei from any body site, or detection by any other direct or indirect method must be reported.

How to report Glanders

  • Call 651-201-5414 or 877-676-5414 immediately to report Glanders.
    24-7 Phone Reporting
    This disease must be reported immediately by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Submitting clinical materials

For melioidosis, submission of clinical materials (isolate, if available) to MDH is required.

Who is required to report

  • Health care practitioners (health care facilities, medical laboratories, and in certain circumstances veterinarians and veterinary medical laboratories) are required to report disease to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) under Minnesota state law.
    • Unless previously reported, every licensed health care provider who provides care to any patient who has, is suspected of having, or has died from a reportable disease is required to report.
  • Any person in charge of any institution, school, child care facility, or camp is also required to report disease to MDH.

More about reporting

Updated Friday, 30-Sep-2022 14:57:35 CDT