Reporting Plague - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Reporting Plague
(Yersinia pestis)

On this page:
What to report
How to report
Submitting clinical materials
Who is required to report

What to report

Plague (Yersinia pestis) must be reported to MDH immediately 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Case definition

How to report Plague

  • Call 651-201-5414 or 877-676-5414 immediately to report Plague.
    24-7 Phone Reporting
    This disease must be reported immediately by phone 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Submitting clinical materials

For Plague, submission of clinical materials (isolate, if available) to MDH is required by rule.

Who is required to report

  • Health care practitioners (health care facilities, medical laboratories, and in certain circumstances veterinarians and veterinary medical laboratories) are required to report disease to the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) under Minnesota state law.
    • Unless previously reported, every licensed health care provider who provides care to any patient who has, is suspected of having, or has died from a reportable disease is required to report.
  • Any person in charge of any institution, school, child care facility, or camp is also required to report disease to MDH.

Updated Wednesday, 09-Feb-2022 15:33:11 CST