Invasive Staphylococcus aureus Reporting - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Invasive Staphylococcus aureus Reporting
(including MRSA and MSSA)

In 2005, as part of the Emerging Infections Program, MDH initiated population-based invasive MRSA surveillance in Ramsey County. In 2008, surveillance was expanded to include Hennepin County. In 2014, surveillance was expanded to include all invasive Staphylococcus aureus (methicillin-resistant and susceptible) from patients who reside in Hennepin or Ramsey Counties. Invasive Staphylococcus aureus (S. aureus) is not reportable statewide under the Minnesota Communicable Diseases Reporting Rule.

On this page:
What to report
How to report
More about MRSA
More about invasive bacterial diseases

What to report

  • All patients with invasive S. aureus isolated from a normally sterile site who are residents of Hennepin and Ramsey Counties must be reported to MDH within one working day.
    • Normally Sterile Sites
      include: blood, bone, joint, CSF, muscle, pleural or pericardial fluid, or any other internal body site.
    • If isolate is collected in the operating room, please submit the operation report along with the case report form
  • Reporting Staphylococcus aureus Infection
    More information about reporting other S. aureus infection; Minnesota Rules Governing Communicable Diseases require health care providers to report deaths or serious disease (i.e., ICU admission) due to VISA, VRSA and community-associated Staphylococcus aureus to the Minnesota Department of Health.

How to report Invasive MRSA

More about MRSA

More about Invasive bacterial diseases




Updated Wednesday, 15-Jan-2020 09:58:41 CST