Antimicrobial Resistant Staphylococcus aureus - Minnesota Dept. of Health

Antimicrobial-Resistant Staphylococcus aureus

An increasing number of patients are being seen with skin infections caused by Staphylococcus aureus (“staph”) bacteria that are resistant to many antibiotics (drugs that kill bacteria).

These resistant strains of staph are known as “MRSA” (methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus), "VISA" (vancomycin-intermediate Staphylococcus aureus) and "VRSA" (vancomycin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus).


Updated Friday, 28-Jan-2022 12:38:26 CST