Noncertified Copies of Death Records
A noncertified copy is a plain paper copy of a death record. Noncertified copies are only for informational use.
You cannot use a noncertified death record for legal purposes. If you need a certificate for legal use, see our Death Certificates webpage.
Office of Vital Records processing timesAs of August 8, 2022, the Office of Vital Records is mailing noncertified copies of death records from applications received on or before:
- July 12, 2022 - regular processing
- August 2, 2022 - rush processing
The Office of Vital Records deposits fees the day it receives them; this is before we review and process your request.
Who can get a noncertified copy of a death record?
Anyone may buy a noncertified copy of a Minnesota death record.
How do I buy a noncertified copy of a death record?
- Read and complete the Noncertified Death Record Application Instructions (PDF) form.
- The fee is $13. If you order more than one copy, each added copy of the same record is $6. Fees are non-refundable (Minnesota Statutes, section 144.226).
- Vital records offices return applications that are incomplete or not paid in full at the time of application.
- If a vital records office cannot find the death record, you will receive a “Statement of No Death Record Found."
Where do I buy a noncertified copy of a death record?
From a Minnesota county vital records office
You may buy noncertified copies of death records from 1997 to the present from any Minnesota county vital records office. Pre-1997 death records are available in the county of death or from the Office of Vital Records. Check with the county vital records office close to you for information about their services during the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic.
From the Office of Vital Records
You may also order a noncertified copy of a death record from the Office of Vital Records. Send your application by mail or fax for records 1908-present. The Office of Vital Records at the Minnesota Department of Health does not have walk-in service.
What if the death occurred outside of Minnesota?
For information about vital events records in other states, see Where to Write for Vital Records on the CDC website.